Jessica Says #1

Good morning!

In preparing for this week’s entry, I went through many topics, from Hubs’ big 3-0 to the Big Move (of which you were not here to supervise and thus it was not as fun as the last one) to the weirdly non-winter weather we’re having stateside (seriously, it’s like fake spring).  I also toyed around with waxing poetic about how my personality is equal parts Liz Lemon, Jess Day, and Lorelai Gilmore.

Instead, I’ve decided to introduce a segment called Jessica Says.  I know you’re always looking for new shows and music and books and other awesome nonsense I find, and I also know you trust my knowledgeable opinion.  So… let’s get to it!

Downtown Abbey
Are you a fan of British television?  Sorry, I didn’t catch your answer; your hysterical laughter is all I can hear.  Of course you are!!  DA is the greatest thing to happen to PBS since the Les Miserables 25th Anniversary Concert at the O2 Arena.  It’s got drama and intrigue and a bevy of accents and historical fashion and Dame Maggie Smith.  I could tell you more, but that should be more than enough right there.  Go forth and watch.

The Civil Wars
I’m apparently a wee bit late to this game, but I’m just grateful I found them at all.  Gorgeous, haunting harmonies that I can listen to all day long, and so I *do*.  I think I need an “I’ve Got This Friend”-tervention.  Thank my lucky stars I don’t have an office mate, because that intervention would have arrived about 2 weeks ago.  And… repeat.

Princess Bride wine!
I KNOW.  We must get this.  Inconceivable Cab and As You Wish White.  And then we must watch the movie.  While drinking the wine.  And quoting along.  We’ll be the first to ever think of this plan, I’m sure.

Lego Harry Potter Years 1-4
“Video games?!” She shouted in a derisive tone.  Yes, my dear.  Video games.  If they can’t be dancing games, then they must be Harry Potter and/or Lego games.  The only thing that isn’t great about this is it’s not an online game so I don’t get to wear the Britney Spears headset.  I do get to shout, “Wingardium Leviosa!” at my television. Not because the game requires it, though.  I just think it helps my score.

Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins
As you know, I’m a reviewer of the Young Adult books over at Wastepaper Prose.  That means I am a self-expressed expert on what’s awesome in YA.  I know I’ve told you to get on the Anna bandwagon, but this is my way of ensuring that my plea is recorded.  This isn’t a new discovery by any means- in fact, I first read this just over a year ago- but it’s so fantastic that I must scream my love from the blog-tops.  I’ve been asked many, many times why I read YA when I’m clearly not the target audience (aka I’m more A than YA).  While my true answer is a tale for another day, the short, short version is that I like them more, and Anna is one of the many examples I use to show how great YA can be.  This is an extremely well-written and well-paced story about Anna Oliphant’s senior year at the School for America in Paris.  It’s filled with fabulously real characters, rich and delicious prose about the streets of Paris and the magic (and magical food) you can find there, and the most authentic love story I’ve read in a long time.  I will never tire of it.  The best part?  This is not even my favorite Stephanie Perkins novel!  And I still love it this much!  Can you imagine how I will fangirl when I tell you about Lola and the Boy Next Door?

So that’s what Jessica Says.

Leave a Reply

