Must Be the Season of the Wedding

Good morning!

I post pictures of my in-laws’ backyardyou post pictures of Vietnam.  I see how it is.

So where have I been and what have I been up to, missy?  As you know, it’s sticky, sweaty summertime here in DC, and when it’s summer and you’re of a certain age, it can only mean one thing.  Oh that’s right, it’s Wedding Season– that wonderful time of year when you spend a ton of money on new pretty dresses, hotel rooms in remote parts of the country, and expensive kitchen products and/or fancy towels for people you’ve known since before either of you cared about expensive kitchen products and/or fancy towels.  Hopefully, these thoughtful expenditures will all pay off (heh heh) in the end, as in you’re treated to a delicious meal, an open bar, and more dancing than you’ll do for the rest of the year.

Oh yeah, and your friends will remember it for the rest of their lives.

We’ve been lucky enough to receive a bunch of invitations, so we must be the kind of people want to have around on their most special day.  This year, we have one off-season wedding which shall remain nameless but I think you might know what I’m talking about (*ahem*goldplatedcrown*ahem*), and WS includes a grand total of 2.  We’ve got one this weekend, and the other one was for Larry’s sister.  Larry was the Best Bro and he carried his bouquet in an empty beer bottle, so clearly it was a Very Good Time.

I actually like wedding season, though.  It’s stressful and busy and full of all the things that make me most crazy, but even after the craziest of times, I find myself smiling and shedding a tear during the ceremony.  Maybe it’s because I’m a hopeless romantic or I’m thinking about how glad I am that I married my husband or possibly they aren’t actually tears but sweat falling from my eyes because I’m so dang hot.  All I know is that all the stress and crazy is totally worth it when you see two people you love being in love.

Or maybe it’s the heat.

Leave a Reply

